top of page

Early Reviews for The Last Roundhead!

- The English Civil War is so often portrayed as a conflict between the royalists and the puritans that one forgets it began as a conflict between the king and parliament. So it is interesting to read a novel set during this initial period before the whole edifice of English society had been overturned but when, nevertheless, structures were beginning to crumble. Cleverly dovetailed into history, with its spurious but convincing provenance and its cast of real and invented characters, The Last Roundhead is the story of Blandford Candy, who is obliged to join the parliamentary army to avoid a scandal at home. It's a period of political and military uncertainty. Both sides are at war but both sides are also involved in a protracted series of negotiations. Many of the parliamentarians still feel a good deal of loyalty towards their king and although attitudes are hardening , there is still room for sympathies to change. It is in this environment that Blandford finds his true vocation. He becomes a Scout, a spy for the parliamentary party with a licence to unravel the enemy's machinations. To his own surprise, he proves successful at espionage but everything else in his life goes awry. His friends are killed; he loses the woman he loves; and his two brothers, who have joined the royalist party, are determined to see him dead. Finally, he becomes the target of an a determined assassination plot. Laced with disenchantment at the incompetence of powerful men, the novel pulls off that difficult trick of seeming entirely authentic while simultaneously resonating with a contemporary sensibility. When I got to the end, I immediately wanted to go back to the history books and find out more about the characters who flitted in and out of its pages.

Brian Keaney

-Just finished reading The Last Roundhead(I received an ARC from netgalley). Evans has a great sense of history and a bawdy sense of humor. The book was a quick and fun read but my enjoyment was limited because the book presupposed a deeper knowledge of England's civil war than I possess. Recommended.

Andrew

-I thoroughly enjoyed this romp through the English Civil Way by Jemahl Evans. I know quite a lot about the history of the conflict, which improved the experience. Reminiscent of the Flashman series in tone and footnoted structure, Evans also rewards those who have studied the period with a wealth of gritty detail and practical soldiering. Read a trade paperback review copy sent to me from the UK.

David Luckhardt (English Civil War Society of America)

-I did not expect to enjoy this as much as I did. I had thought it would be blokey full of battles - of which there are a few - but to me the main plot arc is driven by the tensions and interplay of the female characters. I laughed out loud in many places, and there are character gems such as the charcoal burner in the woods.

I thoroughly recommend The Last Roundhead. It is hard to pigeon hole a particular audience for it as I think it would appeal to many people. And not just those who are well versed in the history of the Civil War. I had never heard of Cavaliers and Roundheads before reading this book (I'm not British), but it didn't take me long to get up to speed with who's who.

Kali Napier

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
bottom of page